The other day I was talking to my friend Dave Ferrier on Skype chat. We were talking about life. School. People. Greek (the language). Music.

The usual stuff.

While we were talking he reminded me of something our friend and former teacher, Steve Webster, said one day while we were sitting behind those desks that I had sat behind every week day for what felt like all of my life. It went something like this:

There are two things in life that will last forever: people and the Word of God. It would be wise of you to invest your time into both.

I may have gotten it totally wrong, but nevertheless it helps me prove my point.

Europe needs the Gospel.

Before I came to the Canary Islands, I would have these moments of doubt. People would ask me what I was going to do while here, and I would respond with “build relationships with people.” For some reason I started to think that that was a lame answer.

I’m not here to dig wells. I’m not here to start an orphanage. I don’t have to bathe out of a 5 gallon bucket. I don’t have to eat rice and beans three times a day. I don’t have to keep my faith a secret. I don’t have to lead a Bible Study.

I’m here to build relationships? Yep.

I think these moments of doubt would come when I was being the least selfish.

Sure. I was coming here to learn Spanish. I was coming here because I love to travel. I was coming here because I wanted to live in a different country for a little while. I was coming here because I’ve seriously thought about being a missionary. I was coming here…

Get my point?

It took me a month to FULLY realize that building relationships with people is worth it. I think I figured it out before I talked to Dave, but he helped me put it into words.

I could give you statistics about Europe. About Spain. About the Canary Islands. But a lot of times a number is just a number.

Let me put it this way…

My friends are still trying to figure out “what” I am.

Because I read the Bible because I want to.

Because I go to church because I want to.

I think they think it’s strange that I’m not forced to do these things by anyone or anything.

In other words, they haven’t really met anyone like me before.

Are you starting to figure this out?

15 girls. 15 friends. 15 people who have no idea what a Christian looks like.

Europe needs the Gospel.

Our prayers are needed. Our lives are needed. Heck, our money is needed.

God is going to do what He’s going to do. He wants us to be a part of it.

Why would we NOT be a part of it?!

Leave a comment